Tags

, , , , , ,

I write a monthly article for Aquarius News. You should pick up their paper or read it online at http://aquarius-atlanta.com. This is July’s article which is in the paper that released today.

Michael Jackson sings,

I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you want to make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself, and then make a change”

 

in his song “Man in the Mirror”. This month’s theme is “Create” here at Aquarius and it is indeed up to us to create the world(s) that we want to see. Some Christians pray a model prayer that Jesus gives us in the Gospels that contains a line “Your kingdom, your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.” Monastics of many faith traditions practice a type of prayer that is silent but focuses on a particular thought or word that they desire to find more of in their world. But it is my Pentecostal Christian friends, who in my opinion, often pray the most radical prayers. And while I may not agree with them on all matters, I have to commend their zeal. I have a lot of Pentecostal friends who “create” as they speak. Whether they’re praying over a sick friend, a financial issue, or even a social issue they call those things that are not as though they are and then they live as if the prayer has already been answered. We have to be careful here. I am not encouraging ignorance to reality but I will ask for zeal from my Progressive/Liberal brothers and sisters.
Whether or not you consider yourself a follower of the way of Jesus, I want some Pentecostal Progressives. I want some Progressive/Liberal folks to be zealous for the Spirit of Truth, Justice and Wholeness. I want some Faith from us. I want some Pentecostal Progressives to start calling things that are not as though they are. You don’t have to know Jesus to hoop and holler over prison reform, Medicaid expansion, LGBTQ equality, or the broadening of social safety nets. All that requires of you is to be human. They say I’m a Dreamer, but hey, I’m not the only one. I believe social change starts in the heart of the individual. Then we take that desire for social change that is imprinted upon our hearts and we take it to our friends, then our friends’ friends and then maybe our passion becomes contagious and we find ourselves at the precipice for social change.
In what ways can we create as we speak? As last month’s theme was intention, in what ways can our intentions lead to creation? What burden is on your heart or in your spirit that you cannot be quiet over any longer? It’s time for (as our Atlanta Falcons say) us to “Rise Up” and create the future we desire. If not for us, create a good future for those who will follow in our steps. Let us leave this world in a better state than which it was handed to us. And if we can’t create a better world, at least a better Atlanta, a better Georgia. And creating those better realities starts with creating a better you and me.

Be good to yourself and Namaste.

