Tags

, , ,

Monday was a rainy day in the Metro Atlanta area.  I had been running around town taking care of some errands as I had been out of town all the previous week.  I was exhausted.   I was wet.  I was ready to be home with my wife.  Traffic was horrible as I was approaching I-75 on I-285 around 5:30.

As I approached the Cobb Cloverleaf, I looked up and saw an image similar to the one you see above.  I saw a beautiful image of sun breaking its way through some clouds.  It was my glimmer of sunshine.  It was my glimmer of hope for an otherwise rough day.  I felt as if God put that little ray of sunshine right there for me.

This beautiful display struck me on a deep level and it got me thinking.  I have a tendency to be very critical of the church at large.  When I look at the big steeples, I see a bleak future.  I see a lot of rainy days.

But, I see glimmers of hope too.  A week ago, I was with a 135 other church planters who are approaching ministry in new and unique ways.  I am headed towards affiliation with the Disciples of Christ, a denomination that I believe is truly on the forefront of doing church in exciting ways.  I have friends who are interested in community transformation, rather than preserving the physical institution of church.

I am excited to be a part of this missional church movement.  I am excited to be planting this church with my wife.

I am truthfully exhausted.  It’s a rainy day.  The future looks bleak, to those folks who are dedicated to the big steeples.  But I have a glimmer of hope.  The missional church is going to save the church at large.  If anything will, missional churches are going to save Christianity from obscurity.

I am thankful.  I am hopeful.  I have glimmers of hope.  I have dreams.

