Tags

, , , ,

Dear Church:

Your “Good News” doesn’t work for me anymore.  Your altar calls don’t work for me anymore.  Your false god that can’t wait to punish me doesn’t work for me anymore.

I’ve heard my whole life what the “good news” was suppossed to mean and how I was supposed to react to it.  But that doesn’t work for me anymore.  I have to believe that God is very personal.  I have to believe that God/Jesus is interested in me as an individual.  Because that’s the Jesus I find in Scripture.  I find a Jesus that met with a Rabbi late at night, alone.  I find a Jesus that met with a woman at a well, alone.

And yet, you (the church) request that I come down to the front aisle in front of a crowd to get a fast food service prayer that has been prayed over a thousand others.  I find a church marketed to the masses to save the most the quickest.  But I find a Jesus who worked very individually.

We’ve all heard “we know not the day nor the hour of the return of the Son of Man”.  The more I think about that statement the more I wonder if that’s because that time is different for every individual.  You preach the Damascus Road Passage and tell your Parishioners that they can have this personal experience with Jesus. Then during your altar calls, you give those same parishioners a Happy Meal experience.

You tell those parishioners that Jesus loves them…. unless they don’t “pray this prayer after me”.  Then that Jesus that loves them will damn them to Hell.  Yeah, that makes perfect sense.  That “good news” doesn’t work for me anymore.

So, I will preach a new Good News.  I will preach the good news I find in Scripture.  I will preach of the Jesus who works with and through individuals.  I will preach the good news of the Jesus that loves them unconditionally and wants the best for them.

So, American Church, your “good news” doesn’t work for me anymore…

But that’s okay.  I’ll take the good news of the Bible and preach it.

May the Peace and Grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you from now and unto the end of the age.

