Today is Wild Goose+3 and I’m still coming to terms with some of the things I learned during that fantastic weekend.

I had the immense honor or volunteering for the first annual Wild Goose, so my first encounter at the Goose was with other volunteers. It was not enjoyable. The lady who checked me in was rude and arguing about when she was suppossed to get her break with other volunteers.

But other than that, I had a wonderful weekend hanging out with the likes of Richard Twiss, Tony Jones, Mark Scandrette, Doug Pagitt, Jay Bakker and numerous others.

What did I learn at the Goose? The first speaker I heard was Richard Twiss, a Native American who works on educating others on how to see Christ in the Native American Culture rather than trying to change the Natives so they can “find Christ”.

Richard told a story about a white missionary talking with a African Native:

“A white missionary and an African Native were on the plains in Africa and saw a herd of elephants at a water hole. It wasn’t very long and another herd of elephants came up to try and drink. From the new herd, came a rather small elephant that backed up until it’s backside touched an elephant in the other herd. And the African Native said, “That’s the problem with you white missionaries, you don’t know how to back in.””

As I get ready to be a part of a church plant here in Atlanta, I need to learn how to “back in” because if I just jump in face forward, someone is going to take offense and I’m going to lose an opportunity to share the story of Christ.

Has there ever been a point in your life where you’ve felt the need to learn to back in rather than forcefully enter in to a situation? Or do you think it is better to come into a situation full guns blazing?

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

