I don’t have all the answers. I have questions and all the questions I ask here, I’m working out for myself too.

“And you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you and you will be my witnesses in all of Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and unto the ends of the earth.” -Jesus (Acts 1:8)

Christians take that “unto the ends of the earth” pretty seriously. The SBC has a great organization (IMB) that does great things to end poverty and hopelessness all over the world while sharing the Gospel.

But I’ve always seen a hole in that “unto the ends of the earth” ideology.

Who’s going to save your city? What about the hopelessness, poverty and need for the gospel in your hometown? Who’s going to bring the Gospel to them?

We get so caught up in “to the ends of the earth”, we forget about Jerusalem. We forget about Judea and Samaria. Well, I’m going to make my Jerusalem (Alexandria, LA) my focus for the next year. I’m going to minister to my city in the best way I can.

What does that mean? I don’t know. Remember, I have questions. I have no idea what that means, but I’m going to find out.

If Nothing else, pray for your Jerusalem. Let’s save our cities, eh?

