Tags

, , , , ,

The J-List is being bad today and I can’t log in. Therefore I’m doing my Monday Post here.

This weeks theme is about Christmas traditions but I already wrote about Christmas traditions here.

So, as the youngest J-Lister and one of two who aren’t married, I want to write about the Christmas traditions I hope to start with my kids. I want my kids’ childhood to be much different than my own.

Christmas at my house will not be about presents. I will show my kids every day of the year that I love them so I won’t have to buy their affection with gifts one day a year.

Now, I’m not harshing all you guys who go big on Christmas presents, but if you didn’t, would your kids still know you loved them?

Christmas at my house will be about serving. I mean, we are celebrating Christ’s birth on Earth, right? And He came to serve, not to be served, right? I think Jesus would be very disappointed with how Christians celebrate Christmas this day in age.

Don’t get me wrong. I grew up in a house with a family where I knew I was loved. But mainly, I don’t want my kids growing up thinking that the most important figure of Christmas, is some fat guy in a red suit. I want them to know that the most important figure of Christmas came, lived, died and was raised so they could have life.

What about you?

What are some Christmas traditions you want to start?

Have any really cool Christmas traditions you’d like to share?

