Tags

, , , , , ,

Sometimes I fake it. Sometimes faking it is the only way to get through it. “Can this be over already? I’m ready to go do my next thing.”

You know what I’m sayin… Don’t play… When you fake it, everyone knows and nobody likes it. It especially infuriates the one who loves you. You’re not fooling anyone.

So please, stop faking your love for your neighbor.

Are we raising up a generation that really loves their neighbors? As a youth pastor, this question hit me hard.

Do we love our neighbors? Are we giving those we instruct and lead an example of real love for those around us?

Or are we faking it?

“By this they will know you’re my disciples, by your love for one another.”-John 13:35

I am so quick to judge. I am so quick to gossip. I am so quick to retort with a sarcastic comment. I fail so often at loving those that are easy to love. What happens when I try to fulfill the commandment to love my enemy?

Love, in its truest form, is sacrificial. What have you sacrificed for your neighbor recently? What have you sacrificed for your wife/husband/son/daughter recently? Let’s start at home by loving those we share a home with and then let’s bring that love, that sacrificial love, to the city.

Let’s take some time during our holiday and go to the homeless shelter and volunteer.

Let’s go to the soup kitchen and look poverty in the face and SERVE them.

What are you doing this Christmas season to serve those around you?

God has given you a mission field in which you can show love. What are you doing with your opportunity?

I’m pretty sure I’ve wasted mine for a long time. That time is over.

