Tags

, , , , , , , ,

God hates America.

God hates the World.

God hates fags.

God hates Muslims.

God hates….

God hates….

God hates….

The lovely people from Westboro use the name of God and the word hate together a lot. Let’s take a look at some of the things/people Scripture says God hates.

16 There are six things the LORD hates,
seven that are detestable to him:
17 haughty eyes,
a lying tongue,
hands that shed innocent blood,
18 a heart that devises wicked schemes,
feet that are quick to rush into evil,
19 a false witness who pours out lies
and a person who stirs up conflict in the community.

I could go through each of these and relay them to Westboro and use Scripture to tell you that God hates Westboro Baptist Church. But you know what? I’m not going to do that.

Because the God I serve, the Redeemer I have come to love, is a God of love. He tells me numerous times in Scripture to love my neighbor.

And whether or not I like it, the people of Westboro are my neighbors.

They are my brothers and sisters in Christ and it is my job to love them. That does not mean that it’s my job to agree with them or condone what they’re doing.

But if all we do is spit hate right back at them, what good have we done? However we are not to repay evil with evil, but with blessing. That’s right. They infuriate us? We repay them with blessing. That is what Scripture tells us to do.

So, here’s my call friends. Be better. Do more. And when Westboro does something stupid like picket a soldier’s funeral, pray for them.

When you see them on tv defaming the God you know to be of love with words of hate, pray for them.

What about you?

What do you think about Westboro? Do you think they deserve to be prayed for? Or are they beyond even the help of God?

