Tags

, , , , ,

When is the last time you prayed for the congregation you attend regularly?

When’s the last time you prayed for the pastors and staff of your church?

When’s the last time you prayed for your family?

When’s the last time you prayed for your job situation?

I think there are more than a few reasons that people don’t pray.  And I’m going to cover a few of them here.

  1. I don’t have time to pray.

Don’t even get me started on this one.  Let’s go ahead and ignore 1 Thessalonians 5:17 for a second and let’s just look at the practical side of things.

Would it kill you to wake up 15 minutes earlier?  Or go to bed 15 minutes later?  You make time for a lot of things.  Talking to God should be one of those things.

I hate it when people refer to their “prayer life”.  I rather refer to my life as a life of prayer.  Prayer should not be a part of our life, but talking to our Daddy, our Heavenly Creator should be our number one priority in life.  A balanced life of prayer often means a balanced life at the job, with the family and socially.  Why do I have the audacity to say such things?  Because I have seen what a healthy prayer discipline can do for a leader and how a leader who does not have a proper prayer discipline rots and stinks to those around him (figuratively, of course).

2.      I don’t have anything to pray about.

Here’s another one that really grinds my gears.  Pray for me!  Pray for your pastor!  Pray for your family!  Pray for your brothers and sisters in Christ, but never! Never! Say “I don’t have anything to pray about!”  IF you look at Jesus’ model prayer, what’s the first sentence say?  “Our Father in Heaven, Hallowed be thy name.”  Hallowed be thy name.  The first priority of prayer is praise!  So we always have something to pray about.  God wants you to pray big prayers!  God wants you to pray your heart out!  He wants to show how much He loves you by providing for you!

3.      God doesn’t care about my trivialities.

What Biblical precept tells you that your problem is not big enough for God?  The same God that did an awesome miracle of making the Sun literally stand still is the same God that offered manna for the Israelites in the dessert and the same God that multiplied the widow’s oil in the dessert.  If you’re willing to trust God and have a real almost arrogant faith, He wants to meet your needs.  A lot of people have this picture of God, sitting in a throne, but not having much interest in our daily lives, but I have a truth for you: God loves you.

4.      I’m too far gone for God to help me.

If a good portion of the world believes God is all powerful, but just doesn’t care about us, then there is an equal portion that believes God is benevolent, but not capable.  Some people really think that the human race has abandoned Him so, that He doesn’t have the capacity to act on their behalf anymore.  I wish I was making this up.  I wish I was joking, but I’m not.  You don’t hear people saying this, but you see it in their actions and the way they act.  People say things like, “All we can do is pray” like prayer is a last resort.  All we can do is pray?  Let us pray and hope God comes to the rescue!  No!  We pray. We remind God of His strength and His promises and we claim restoration on the damaged relationships!  We claim healing in the life of the cancer patient who the doctors have given up on!  And we claim supernatural resources to flood in to the family that doesn’t know where their next meal is coming from!  All we can do is pray?  No! Prayer is not our last resort, but our front lines for battle!!!

You don’t have time to pray? Make time!  Go before your Father and make supplications!  Remind God of His promises, not that He needs reminding, but it increases your faith!  There is no reason that we can’t be the modern day heroes of Faith!  ROCK ON!

Can I pray for you? What would you like me to pray about?

